Supporting the self-management sector to achieve excellent quality

QISMET is an independent not-for-profit body that supports self-management education providers and commissioners to achieve the highest possible quality service for people living with long-term health conditions. 

We do this by developing Quality Standards defining good practice in self-management education, and testing and approving providers against these Standards.  This approval is called accreditation (sometimes known as certification).


QISMET provides accreditation (sometimes known as certification) of self-management education interventions against two best practice Quality Standards: QIS 2020 and SS2Q.

For details of each of these Standards and what they contain see the other boxes on this page.

Accreditation is a process of checking what providers do compared with what the Standards require. We have a team of experienced auditors who  carry out audits.

Once you have passed you will be able to use our logo and get a certificate.

Please contact us using the contact form for further details or click below for details of how to get accredited and our Register of Accredited Providers

QIS 2020

QIS 2020 is our ‘universal’ Quality Standard.  It can be used by providers of any type of self-management intervention, including digital provision, one-to-one approaches, phone interventions, apps, group based approaches, etc.   The key requirements are that the intervention must involve structured education and must have clearly defined outcomes.

It contains the fundamentals of good practice that apply for any type of self-management education intervention.

Click on the box below to find out what QIS 2020 is all about.

SMRC Courses

We have a Quality Standard specifically for providers of lay-led self management programmes based on what was originally called the Stanford model. These courses operate under a licence from the Self-Management Resource Centre, provided in the UK by Talking Health Taking Action (THTA). The courses were originally known in the UK as the Expert Patient Programme.

The Standard is called ‘Stepping Stones to Quality’ – SS2Q. It defines best practice for providers of these programmes. The latest simplified and updated version was released in 2017.

We have also developed a Training and Support Framework with THTA for people who actually deliver the programmes.

For details of either of these, please click below.

Accreditation Register

QISMET accredits providers against its two Quality Standards.  This lasts for three years.

If you would like to see who is currently accredited by us, and for what,  please click on the link below.

Congratulations to our latest accredited providers

  • Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • Leeds Community Healthcare
  • Walsall Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Oviva UK Ltd
  • Second Nature Healthy Habits Ltd
  • Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust
  • South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Livewell Southwest – Wellbeing Team